Search

Loading...
Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

unitedbybooks.blogspot.com Sensual Se
Friday, May 9, 2014

The Skinwalker's Apprentice Blog Tour


Today on my blog I have The Skinwalker's Apprentice blog tour. On my stop there is a spotlight, review, and giveaway.

“Welcome to The Empire State, where banshees, witches, and skinwalkers wait…” 


Margo Pennyfeather is being hunted. The 16-year-old witch has always been an outcast, in her home back in England, and now in the village of East Hampton, New York, where her family has settled. No one but her family has ever cared for Margo, but now the most important witch in the magic world wants her as an apprentice, giving her a chance to bring her family out of poverty. 



Before long, Margo realizes things aren't what they seem, least of all, what kind of witch she really is. Now, the young witch must face a terrifying monster on her own, and the reverberations will reach farther than she could have ever imagined. 



More than three hundred years later, in 1984 Emerald Kipp is a high school senior in New York City. A troubled teen with a rebellious streak, Emerald can't seem to figure out what to do with her life, and unfortunately for her, “witch” isn’t one of the available career choices in her guidance counselor’s office. As she struggles to figure herself out, Emerald is faced with the threat of being stuck in school and missing her final summer with her three best friends. Her last year of high school is turning out to be the worst yet, and Emerald thinks it can’t possibly get any worse. Unfortunately for her, she’s dead wrong.



And there’s something else, something far more sinister stirring in Emerald’s world, and she’ll have to believe in herself if she wants to get through it alive. 



Two witches, three hundred years apart, one inescapable fate. 



The Skinwalker's Apprentice is a prequel to the upcoming novel, Emerald Kipp and The Riddle of The Timekeeper, a terrifying magical scavenger hunt through the gritty streets of 1980’s New York City,set to a killer soundtrack, and perfect for fans of Harry Potter and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Part of The Empire Witch series. 



Review: 

Margo has always wanted to train and become a better witch to help her family out. They have left their home due to witches being hunted and killed. In her new town everything seems to be better when she gets an apprenticeship with an important witch. But this witch is not all she seems and soon Margo realizes she has a very special power that this witch wants from her. Flash forward three hundred years and we meet Emerald who is trying to find out what she wants to do with her life, stay out of trouble so she can graduate on time with her best friends. But that proves harder than it should be when Emerald has all these great ideas as she sees them but actually they get her in trouble at every turn. She is also keeping a huge secret she is a witch with great power but not even she realizes just how special she really is.


I loved how the book went back and forth from each girl. Getting to know each one separately was great. Margo who is just trying to better her craft to help her family is just amazing. She is special and so much more powerful than even she imagined. I would love to have her powers. Emerald doesn’t use her powers as often since she has to hide them from her friends. But she is a great heroine who doesn’t mean to hurt anyone she just wants to have fun. The author does a great job with both heroines. We really get to know each one. But I really loved how Margo escaped from her teacher. I can’t wait for the next book. 4/5 Bloody Fangs   




Book Links:

B&N 

Claribel Ortega, has a degree in journalism and got her start working as a reporter for The Rivertowns Enterprise, a local paper in lower Westchester County, New York. As a reporter, she enjoyed going to board of education meetings and texting the town mayors about the line at Starbucks.


Today, Claribel works for The Combined Book Exhibit, a book marketing company in Westchester NY.



She lives in New York with her really awesome boyfriend, her suspiciously intelligent yorkie Pancho Villa and is surrounded by an impenetrable fort of books she gets from her job.



“The Skinwalker’s Apprentice” is her first book, and cheese is her favorite food. 



Stalker Links:



Thank you for stopping by my blog today. I would also like to say Thank You to Claribel for letting me review your book and say Thank You to Book Nerd Tours for letting me participate in this blog tour. Don't forget to enter the giveaway below.

~Sabrina 

1 comments:

Claribel Ortega said... Best Blogger Tips[Reply to comment]Best Blogger Templates

Thanks so much for participating in my blog tour! Loved the review and I'm so happy you enjoyed the book! Be on the lookout for book one of the series, Emerald Kipp & The Riddle of The Timekeeper :)

About Me

Follow by Email

Followers